Why I Like to Write

There’s a quote in the beginning of Ernest Hemingway’s Green Hills of Africa that really gets down to the root of why I like–need–to write.

I am interested in other things. I have a good life but I must write because if I do not write a certain amount I do not enjoy the rest of my life.

It’s a really simple concept, but I think what Papa Hem was getting at is that writing puts the rest of our lives in perspective. I know this is true for me. I need to write things down in order to fully understand them. When I was in college studying for exams, I would write out the material before the test even if it wasn’t an essay exam so that I could gain a better mastery over it. Writing is, for many people, a way to view the world and understand it a little bit better.

Leave a Reply

